SL in Ind: SLC finally releases ODI team with Sports Ministry approval

6 December 2017 - 102   - 0

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) finally released the One Day International (ODI) squad that will play against India under the captaincy of allrounder Thisara Perera on Tuesday (5) evening. 

The side includes former captains Angelo Mathews and Upul Tharanga but Test skipper Dinesh Chandimal has not found a place in the squad.

The Sri Lanka ODI squad includes 16 players with dashing opener Kusal Perera named in it, but sources say that he will likely be named in the playing XI only if there is an injury to any of the remaining players in the side. 

Earlier on Tuesday (5) evening SLC were about to send off nine player to India to join the Sri Lanka team in Delhi, but the Minister of Sports, Dayasiri Jayasekara ordered them back home after cricket officials failed to follow the procedure to obtain the ratification by the Minister. 

"SLC wishes to state that due to a delay in submitting the list of selected players to the ratification of the Minister (Sports) as per the regulations of the Sport Law owing to the long weekend, the selected players were unable to travel to India yesterday (5) as was originally scheduled, and will depart today (6) instead.

Hence, the Sports Minister granted his approval late on Tuesday and the team left the island during the early hours of Wednesday (6).

Players who will join in the Sri Lanka team in Delhi are Thisara Perera, Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chaturanga de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Sachith Pathirana and Kusal Janith Perera. 

Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Sadeera Samarawickrama and Dhananjaya de Silva, who are in the Test squad, will remain in India for the ODIs.

Sri Lanka and India will play three ODIs during December 10 and 17. 

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Thisara Perera (Capt), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Chaturanga de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushmantha Chameera, Sachith Pathirana, Kusal Janith Perera

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Malaysian Deputy Chief Minister’s alleged links to LTTE to be investigated: Report

Malaysia's Penang Deputy Chief Minister II P. Ramasamy’s alleged links to the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) are to be inve...

20 July 2018 - Views : 17

Court issues summons to Gota and six others

20 July 2018

Five injured after lorry overturns in Anamaduwa

20 July 2018

Trade adjustment policy for the first time in SL - PM  

19 July 2018



Features & Analysis

George Keyt Foundation present 22nd edition of ‘Nawa Kalakaruwo’

The George Keyt Foundation is bringing the twenty second edition of it’s annual exhibition ‘Nawa Kalaka...

Cricketers pay a visit to the Apeksha (Cancer) Hospital in Maharagama

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) donated medicines worth Rs. 1 million to the Apeksha (Cancer) Hospital in Maharagama last eve...

“Disrupt Asia 2018” set to ignite Sri Lanka’s start-up landscape

Disrupt Asia 2018, the 3rd edition of Sri Lanka's Premier Start-up Conference and Innovation Festival, is set to ...

When Nigella was in Colombo

Eager fans of British TV chef and author Nigella Lawson seized the opportunity to get up close and personal with thei...