Shooting: Negombo Rifle Club dominate National Trap Open Championship 2017

20 November 2017 - 87   - 1

Negombo Rifle Club (NRC) dominated the National Shooting Sports Federation (NSSF) National Trap Open Championship 2017 winning Gold in 3 categories. 

NRC's top shooter Mohan Gilbert won Gold in the Overall Individual category, as his teammates Sean Silva and Jeremy Fernando won Silver and Bronze respectively. 

The meet was held at the National Shotgun Range in Payagala, Kalutara. 

NRC's Jan Samaranayake gave the Club its 2nd Gold in the Individual Master's category, while teammate Dallas Martenstyn claimed Bronze. 

The Silver went to Madukande Diulwewa of the Sri Lanka Police, who went on to clinch Bronze in the Overall Team category. 

The Police 'A' team which won Bronze, comprised of Susil Seneviratna, Upul Rathnayake and Rathnayaka Wimalarathna. 

A field of 70 Shooters competed in the Individual category, with 5 rounds for each to prove their capabilities. 

With only 6 qualifying for the final match, only 16 were able to exceed 75 points, of whom, overall winner Gilbert and Kaushan Samaranayake topped the list with 94 points each. 

The NRC's dominance was evident with the inclusion of 9 Shooters topping the list while the 10th was from Colombo's Clay Target Shooting Club. 

In the final match it was a home-and-home battle between 6, as Gilbert took top honours by 'hitting' 30 out of 50 shots, to claim Gold. Sean Silva won Silver, 'hitting' 27 out of 50 shots. 

Jeremy Fernando 'hit' 20 out of 40 shots for Bronze. Johann Fernando finished 4th with 19 out of 35 shots, while Jan Samaranayake finished 5th with 14 out of 30 shots. 

Kaushan Samaranayake, who impressed in the 1st 5 rounds, failed to live up to expectations and finished 6th with 11 out of 25 shots. 

Sandakelum Ranasinghe of the Sri Lanka Air Force (SLAF), who won the National Skeet Championship, a fortnight ago, failed to impress and was shown the exit after the 2nd round, and finished 42nd. 

Two teams representing the NRC clinched Gold and Silver in the Overall Team category. 

The NRC 'B' team comprising Shiyam Dias, Kaushan Samaranayake and Jan Samaranayake won Gold, while the NRC XXX comprising Sean Silva, Dallas Martenstyn and Mohan Gilbert won Silver. 

The SLAF swept all 3 medals on offer in the Individual Female category with Tharushi Mekala claiming Gold, Deepani Mudunkoth winning Silver and Shiroma Priyadarshani taking Bronze. 

All winners at the National Skeet Open & Trap Open Championships 2017, organised and conducted by the NSSF, will receive their medals, trophies and certificates at the NSSF's annual awards ceremony to be held in December.

  Comments - 1

  • Pradeep de S Liyanage Wednesday, 22 November 2017 04:39 PM

    Welcome Mohan! Keep it up! Expert top shooter excels in the meet. Dear Shirantha, congratulations for conducting a national event in this district sport. Pradeep

    Reply : 0       0

    Leave a comment

Top Stories

Leadership training program for principals halted following tragic death

The leadership training program being conducted for school principals has been suspended till the completion of an investigation into the sudd...

20 February 2018 - Views : 7

PC Delimitation report handed over

20 February 2018

Foreign construction workers outshine local counterparts

20 February 2018

Lankan officer's deployment on UN Peace Keeping Mission to Lebanon deferred over HR violations

20 February 2018



Features & Analysis

Jaffna Festival back at the Cinnamon Grand

Cultural extravaganza, Jaffna Festival is back at the Cinnamon Grand Hotel. Visitors to the Cinnamon Grand&rsquo...

Maha Shivarathri: Religious observances by night

As Hindu devotees celebrated Maha Shivarathri throughout the island yesterday our photographer captured these images ...

Positive Living with PD : Support group for those living with Parkinson’s, their care-givers and families

Positive Living with PD – a support group meeting will be held on February 14 at 6 p.m. at the Methodist Church...

Come, support the small wild cat at ´Fishing Cat February´

Help celebrate Fishing Cat February, a month dedicated to the water loving feline, by joining the Small Wild Cat R...