Rowing: S. Thomas' emerge overall champs at 6th Schools Regatta

9 November 2017 - 36   - 0

S. Thomas’ College Mt. Lavinia won the Under-20 overall championship at the 6th Schools Rowing Regatta organised by the Sri Lanka Schools Rowing Association (SLSRA) and held at the Beira Lake.

The Thomian oarsmen won gold medals in Double Scull and Coxless Pairs events and were placed second in the Single Scull, Coxless Pairs and Coxed Fours events in the Under-20 category. 

Due to a technical issue the Girls Under-20 overall championship was not awarded.

Ananda College and Musaeus College emerged overall champions of the Under-18 Boys and Girls championships respectively. 

Musaeus claimed three gold medals while Ananda won two gold medals and a silver medal. 

Ladies College and St. Joseph’s College claimed the Under-14 and Under-16 championships in Girls and Boys categories respectively. 

Results of all finals:



Single Sculls: 1. Hashan Hettigoda (Royal) 2. A. Wickramanayake (STC) 3. Chamika Perera (Royal).

Double Sculls: 1. D. Senanayake, A. Wickramanayake (STC) 2. W. Hewamanna, I. Rambukwella (Ananda) 3. T. Jayaratne, Kiaan Ahamed.

Coxless Pairs: 1. S. Jayasekara, K. Mediwaka (STC) 2. Daraka Peiris, Lakshan Sri Pragash (STC) 3. C. Edirimanna, Khizer Ahamed (Asian International School).

Coxed Fours: 1. Royal, 2. S. Thomas’, 3. Asian International School.


Single Sculls: 1. Davina Koch (Ladies) 2. Sanjula Boteju (Ladies).

Coxless Pairs: 1. Anagi Fernando, T. Attanayake (Bishops) 2. N. Jasinghe, Arshia Silva (Ladies) 3. S. de Mel, A. Hulangamuwa (Bishops).

Coxed Fours: 1. Musaeus, 2. Bishops.



Single Sculls: 1. S. Alexander (Ananda) 2. Yumin Perera (Royal) 3. T. Nithushan (STC).

Double Sculls: 1. R. Nithushan, D. Samaranayaka (STC) 2. M. Fredricks, G. Attanayake (SJC) 3. J. Rockwood, V. Dodangoda (Royal).

Coxless Pairs: 1. Charin Wijethilake, L. Gamage (Royal) 2. J. Welaratne, D. Wickramasinghe (Ananda) 3. V. Premaratne, Abdulla Hassan (Royal).

Coxed Fours: 1. Ananda, 2. Royal, 3. St. Joseph’s.


Single Sculls: 1. Binali de Alwis (Musaeus) 2. Davina Koch (Ladies) 3. Tisuri Yahampath (SBV)

Double Sculls: 1. M. De Alwis, S. de Alwis (Musaeus) 2. R. Kumaranayagam, Shanon Perera (Ladies) 3. L. Mayadunna, H. Kodithuwakku (Musaeus).

Coxless Pairs: 1. Nihara Waravita, A. Subasinghe (Ladies) 2. T. Wijerathnam, Anouk Subasinghe (Bishops) 3. C. Ekanayake, D. Kamalgoda (Bishops).

Coxed Fours: 1. Musaeus, 2. Ladies, 3. Bishops.



Single Sculls: 1. Gavik Kuruppu (Royal) 2. Pamod Vithanage (Ananda) 3. A. Nanayakkara (STC).

Double Sculls: 1. A. Wanigasekara, Shaveen Silva (SJC) P. Vithanage, Asel Gamlath (Ananda) 3. R. Perera, A. Vitharana (British International School).

Coxed Fours: 1. St. Joseph’s, 2. S. Thomas’, 3. Royal College.


Single Sculls: 1. A. Karunaratne (Ladies) 2. Hashini Hettige (Musaeus) 3. P. Hewawasam (Defence Services College).

Double Sculls: 1. T. Malwattage, C. Liyanage (Visakha) 2. C. Tharindya, B. Rajapakse (Sirimavo Bandaranaike) 3. A. Wickramaratne, C. Samarakoon (Ladies).



Single Sculls: 1. Nimithra Jayakody (St.Joseph’s) 2. H. Ranawella (Ananda) 3. V. Rajapaksha (Royal)

Double Sculls: 1. Nimithra Jayakody, N. Nugera (SJC) 2. Venuk Rajapaksha, V. Cooray (Royal) 3. C. Fernando, A. Raddalgoda (S. Thomas’).


Single Sculls: 1. A. Fernando (Ladies College), 2. Anya Devapura (Ladies College) 3. T. Goonathilake (Ladies College).

Double Sculls: 1. T. Herath, Y. Boteju (Bishop’s College) 2. T. Goonathilake, Keshya Varia (Ladies College), 3. N. Sirimanne, M. Dharmaratne (Musaeus).

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

JVP also submits No-Confidence Motion on Faiszer

MPs from the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) today handed over a Motion of No-Confidence against Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Gov...

24 November 2017 - Views : 4

Car plunges into canal: Body of missing teen found

24 November 2017

Chinese rice donation arrives for distribution among disaster affected families

24 November 2017

18-hour water-cut on Saturday

24 November 2017



Features & Analysis

Pre-Christmas Sale at Girls' Friendly Society

All you need for Christmas … in November! The annual Pre-Christmas Sale organized by the Girls’ Friendly...

Indu Dharmasena’s “Chaos by SMS” is back on stage

Popular  playwright and director, Indu Dharmasena’s “Chaos by SMS” is back on stage this year,...

British School Christmas Carnival to get underway next month

An annual event which brings the school community together, the British School in Colomb's  Carnival has bee...

Watch out for Dame Maggie Smith at the Fairway Galle Lit Fest

Local fans will be thrilled with the news that come January, the Fairway Galle Lite Fest  (FGLF) will welcome Da...