U-19 Cricket: Navindu continues to dominate Dialog-TST Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer contest

20 March 2017 - 65   - 0

A healthy lead of 14214 puts the chart-topper, Navindu Nirmal of St. Aloysius' College Galle, in a strong position as he continues to lead the All-Island Schools segment of the Dialog 4G-the Sunday Times Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2017 at the end of the tenth week. 

An addition of 8226 votes made his tally an inaccessible 64112 while Mohamed Najath of Zahira College, despite adding 7980 in the ended week, stays put at second with a tally of 49898. 

Lasith Croospulle of Maris Stella College Negombo moves close to Najath rapidly and his tally currently reads as 44135. 

This after adding 9906, the highest number of combined votes received by a competitor for the second consecutive week. 

Others in the list too added to their existing tally but not as big as the top three as the list remain unchanged for yet another week. 

This list will remain open until end of March, before it is pruned down to the Top 20. 

By end of April the list will be cut down to 15 and by end of May only the Top 10 will be shown. 

This will be valid to all categories of the competition. 

Pulitha Yasas Sri Sarathchandra of Sri Sumangala College Panadura continues to dominate the Emerging Schools category while the International Schools category is led by the sole runner Shimraz Shahil of Alethea International School. 


Coupons of the competition will be published in the Sunday Times, the two English dailies, the Daily Mirror and DailyFT, and the two Sinhala dailies, Daily Lankadeepa and Ada. 

Coupons will run for 26 weeks with the deadline set for week beginning on July 2. 

Readers could vote for their favourite schoolboy cricketer and take them to the winning post during that period. 

Online voting could be done through Dialog Axiata's digital online voting system Portal to vote for the Most Popular Cricketer via 

Player registration closed on February 28. 

Both coupon votes and online votes will be counted on a weekly basis and the official results published every week in the five newspapers and its websites, as well as that of Dialog Axiata's Online Portal. 

The deadline for online voting will be the same as for the coupons. 

Accepting coupons valid for each week will be received only until Thursday noon on each week. 

Online voting for each week will be counted by Thursday noon each week. 

This deadline will be strictly implemented by the organisers. 

Coupons for the related week will NOT BE ACCEPTED AFTER THURSDAY NOON on each week. 

This is an open competition and unethical campaigning will be a disqualification. 

The Sports Editor of the Sunday Times reserves all rights to disqualify such players if any illegal movements is found with proof. 

All-Island Schools 

Navindu Nirmal (St. Aloysius' Galle) 64112 

Mohamed Najath (Zahira College) 49898 

Lasith Croosepulle (Maris Stella College) 44135 

Charana Nanayakkara (Thurstan College) 10093 

Santhush Goonathilake (St. Peter's College) 7955 

Romesh Nallaperuma (S. Thomas' College) 6386 

Dinitha Basnayake (St. Benedict's College) 4696 

Helitha Vithanage (Royal College) 1636 

Lakshina Rodrigo (St. Peter's College) 1133 

Mohamed Rifaz (Presidents College) 863 

Sahan Suraweera (Ananda College) 670 

Dileepa Jayalath (Ananda College) 517 

Nikesh Anjana (S. Thomas' College) 341 

P.A. Dananjaya (Richmond College) 285 

Hareen Buddhila (St. Aloysius College) 243 

Sammu Ashan (Ananda College) 197 

Asel Sigera (Ananda College) 163 

Pasindu Sooriyabandara (Royal College) 163 

Sanjula Abeywickrama (Isipathana College) 103 

Jehan Daniel (St. Joseph's College) 102 

Naveen Gunawardana (Thurstan College) 53 

Avishka Perera (Nalanda College) 50 

Dineth Madurawala (St. Joseph's College) 25 

Thilina Perera (Wesley College) 24 

Shanogeeth Shanmuganathan (Trinity College) 24 

Salith Fernando (St. Anthony's Wattala) 17 

Kavindu Gimhana (Ananda College) 15 

Pathum Nissanka (Isipathana College) 14 

Thilina Nemesh (Prince of Wales') 10 

Avishka Fernando (St. Sebastian's Moratuwa) 8 

Lasith Udage (St. Mary's Kegalle) 8 

Emerging Schools 

Pulitha Yasas (Sri Sumangala Panadura) 1981 

Gimhana Dhanushka (Piliyandala Central) 130 

Nipuna Ransika (P. de S. Kularatne MV) 84 

Methushan Thilina (Kegalu Vidyalaya) 83 

Imesh Basnayake (St. Peter's Gampaha) 80 

Sahan Perera (Christ King Pannipitiya) 74 

Raveen Yasas (Devapathiraja Rathgama) 42 

Hirusha Mendis (Siddartha Central Balapitiya) 27 

Suminda Lakshan (De La Salle Mutwal) 16 

Tissara Dilshan Jayananda (National School Polonnaruwa) 8 

Shrushee Adhishtana (St. Bernadette Kurunegala) 1 

International Schools 

Shimraz Shahil (Alethea International) 120 

Readers prizes go to: 1. Kushan Udayanga, 235/1, Galedanda, Gonawala, Kelaniya, 2. R.P.D.B. Dharmapriya, the Parliament, Kotte, 3. H.G. Kularatne, Ratna Stores, Palawela Road, Elapatha, Ratnapura, 4. Rozanne Amath, 40/41, Katuwawela Road, Maharagama.

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Court re-issues arrest warrant on Jaliya Wickramasuriya

The Colombo Fort Magistrate today re-issued the open warrant for the arrest of Sri Lanka's former Ambassador to the US, Jaliya Wickramasuriya....

24 April 2018 - Views : 50

Operation launched to catch rogue elephant inside Ridiyagama Safari Park

24 April 2018

Pakistan’s Jinnah Scholarships for 182 Sri Lankan students

24 April 2018

101 Trinco fishermen held for engaging in illegal fishing

24 April 2018



Features & Analysis

Big Bad Wolf book sale enthusiasts can check out books on FB

The world’s biggest book sale, the Big Bad Wolf Book Sale, is coming back to Sri Lanka for the second time! Las...

Ministry of Crab pop up event in UK

Chef Dharshan Munidasa will return to the U.K. for a three-day Ministry of Crab Pop Up Event from  April 19 -21....

Miss Premier Ceylon with Miss England to get under way in May

Premier Ceylon, the hotels and hospitality company which has its corporate head office based in Virginia, USA, is rea...

Indian YouTube singer has tearful reunion after 40 years

An Indian man missing for 40 years has had an emotional reunion with his family after a YouTube video of him singing ...