Top racing drivers gear up for Gunner Supercross on July 10

By Naushad Amit

Top racing drivers and riders of Sri Lanka will be eyeing to reign supreme when the 6th Gunner Supercross takes place on July 10 at the Artillery Complex in Minneriya. This grand event is being held for the sixth consecutive year on a gravel track constructed by racing experts. The unique combination of stretches and bends promises racing fans a thrilling motor sports event with excitement.

“As in five previous years, after this year’s event too we wish to utilize the funds generated to the welfare of our war heroes, their families and children. In addition we also wish to fund a portion of the earnings as social service,” said the Major General J. C. Rambukpotha, the Colonel Commandant of the Minneriya Artillery Complex.

A day prior to the main racing day, on July 9, a swimming pool constructed from last year’s funds will be declared open. “We intend to make the facilities available for schoolchildren around the area who engage in swimming. This facility will be mainly available for members of the Artillery Regiment and their family members,” he added.

The Gunner Supercross will include 26 race events under cars, motorbikes and jeeps categories. Twelve motorcycle events have been included for the event with the all Bajaj racing event. Cars events include 11 races while three events are set for truck and jeep events. With three of the events of the Sri Lanka Association of Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR) calendar being completed the competition will be of higher intensity among the Super GT drivers.

The Gunner Supercross, one of the listed races for the annual SLARDAR championship, is an event that could help the top drivers and riders in contention with their goals. After the completion Radella Hill Climb, Fox Hill Supercross and Cavalry Supercross a great battle has been created between young Pasindu Peiris and veteran Dinesh Deheragoda in the Supercars category. Peiris has obtained 41 points while Deheragoda lies behind with 35 points. At the third place is Indian rally driver Naren Kumar followed by supercar specialist Aravinda Premadasa.

Premadasa with 15 points has the possibility of reaching the top without Kumar’s presence in the local racing scene. However Rizvi Farouk is at the fourth position with similar points as Premadasa while Janaka Dias with 14 points too has the potential to fight for the third position overall.

Local riding star Gayan Sandaruwan has been outridden by three foreign contenders in the SLARDAR rider’s championship. Japanese rider Tomoya Suzuki who swept all races in the Group MX events is in the lead with 40 points. Following Suzuki are Indians CS Santhosh and KP Aravind with 28 points apiece. Sandaruwan has obtained 20 points but if the three foreigners remain in Sri Lanka to complete the SLARDAR championship races he will have to dish out something extraordinary to retain his title.
Ashan Silva with 42 points leads the Group SL-H cars category followed by Pasindu Peiris (26) and Janaka Dias (24) respectively. The Under-16 rider’s championship table is being led by promising Shehan C Adikari.

Wins at the Gunner Supercross will be vital for the title contenders in expanding their lead as the SLARDAR championship races reach the halfway mark. Following the race at Minneriya will be Katukurunda Supercross, Gajaba Supercross and Sigiriya Rallycross.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Out with the begging bowl (ing)
Sports Minister slashes Aussie tour budget
Red shirts continue winning streak against Park Club
Navy in hard fought win over CH&FC
Jayawardene seals Sri Lanka thrashing of England
Nails in cricket’s coffin – a reply
Uddaka helped us tackle many challenges in rugby and life
California or bust
Wazir recalls Lanka’s glory days in the sport
From Texas to BRC, ‘Wild West Party’
Rizvi stamps EZY Racing’s dominance
An Italian soccer experience in Lanka
Dilanka FR case to proceed
Sepaktakraw players hard at practice for World Cup
Top racing drivers gear up for Gunner Supercross on July 10
Lest we forget them
Volleyball selectors continue to blunder
U-17 SLCF emerge runners-up
Vaas-Murali combination was ideal foil for Lanka’s progress in cricket – Dr. David Young
Ruwanthilake retains captaincy for the FIFA World Cup qualifiers
Vijitha, Ketiyapa bag VB titles
Old Thomians Matara are champs
St. Servatius triumph
NDB emerge shuttle champions
St Peter’s clinch Under 18 10-A-Side title
Supplements, side effects and IRB rule book
Kurunegala YCC in line to clinch Sara Trophy
Colombo Campus sweeps Regatta
Defending champs St Joseph’s and Mahamaya on top
Kingswood triumph


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution