# Bata



**2nd round** Lanka, Rajapakshe, de Silva, Rafi, Fernando

1st round

Yasoda Lanka (Richmond), Bhanuka Rajapakshe (Royal), Dhananjaya
de Silva (Richmond), Rasitha Gamage (Dharmapala), Imraz Rafi
(Zahira), Rukshan Weerasinghe (St. Benedict's), Oshada Fernando
(St. Sebastian's), Isuru Gunathilake (Dharmapala), Heshan Kumarasiri (Royal), Nuwan Kavinda (S. Thomas')



## 1st round

Ist round
Sachithra Perera (Ananda), Aravinda Premaratne (St. Anthony's),
Prabath Jayasuriya (Lumbini), Chirath Mapatuna (Carey), Amil Anas
(Trinity), Maduka Liyanapathirana (Lumbini), Janishka Premasinghe
(Trinity), Supeshala Jayatilake (St. Joseph's), Shehan Jayasuriya
(Prince of Wales), Sanitha de Mel (St. Sebastian's), Amila Aponso
(St. Sebastian's)







Bata-the Sunday Times Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year

## Bhanuka Crowned for 20

ational prospect Bhanuka Rajapakshe, the Royal All-Rounder, and an ideal choice for any form of cricket, is the Bata-Sunday Times Schoolboy Cricketer for the year 2011. Rajapakshe was the hot choice of all those who selected the award recipients for this year. Rajapakshe has been in for this year. Rajapakshe has been in great form throughout the 2010/11 cricket season despite playing few matches for his school. He captained Sri Lanka when the England Under-19 team toured the country, and hit two centuries and collected 309 runs in two Test matches with an average of 103.00. He also performed extremely well in the five-match ODI series, collecting 178 runs in bure cargoes exiging the England of the Property of the Propert runs in four games against the English

runs in four games against the English boys.
Rajapakshe was also picked as the All Island Schools Best Batsman while Richmond all-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva who was also a member of the same tour, emerged the runner-up of the Bata-Sunday Times Schoolboy Cricketer of the year.

With Bata coming in to sponsor the with bata coming in to sponsor the Sunday Times Schoolboy oricketer competition for the 32nd time, the selection panel headed by veteran cricket expert Jayantha Seneviratne sat with the sponsors last Thursday (May 26) at the Galadari Hotel to decide on the award recipient. The meeting which the award recipients. The meeting which stretched out for nearly four hours with multiple views on the selections of the winners of the different categories coming from the committee members coming from the committee member which comprised of former national cricketers, officials of the Sri Lanks Schools Cricket Association, the Association of Cricket Umpires of Sri Lanka and the sponsors. Among the selections that were highly debated by officials were the Best Batsman Rest Browler. the Best Batsman, Best Bowler, Best All rounder and Best Fielder awards in the All Fielder awards in the Island category. With many key players getting very little time to represent their schools due to the

England

Under-19

team's visit to Sri Lanka during a period of nearly two months, players who represented the country against England were considered with great care for their respective awards.

The Best Bowler award too came under heavy discussion but was finally handed neavy oscussion but was innainy nanoed to Ananda's leg-spinner Sachithra Perera, Prabath Jayasuriya, who came dose to Sachithra had a healthy average and was unanimously selected as the runner-up. The burly Akila Jayasundera was easily selected as the Best Captain of the season but he contended with in-form wicketkeepers for the Best in-form wicketkeepers for the Best Fielder award. After considering the performances of all players, the selectors decided to stick with Jayasundera. In addition, Trinity, who won ten of 17 games, was the unanimous choice as the Best Team for the 2010/2011

season. In the Emerging category, Duleeka Tissakuttige of Mahanama was a strong contender to be nominated as the Emerging Cricketer, in addition to the Best Batsman award, Moratu Vidyalaya's all-rounder Sanka Ramesh Vioyalayà s all-rounder Sanka Hamesn was selected as the runner up in the emerging cricketer's category, while he also swept the award for the Best All rounder. Ramesh was also named the runner-up in the Best Batsman category. Royal Panadura produced two winners in the Best Bowler and Best All rounder categories. Bublira categories. Tharinda

selected

as the runner-up in the Best Bowler category. Whi**l**e Trinity won the award for the Best Sebastian's who won even from 17 picked as the second best team in the country. Royal Panadura who maintained a record of eight maintained a record of eight wins in 14 matches bagged the Best Emerging Team award. A total of five schools won the team awards for the best team. Karandeniya Central was unanimously named as the Most Promising School Cricket
Team. - NA





1st round

1st round
Tharindu Kaushal (Devapathiraja), Dushan Vimukthi (Royal Panadura),
Kavin Kumara (Royal Panadura), Duleeka Tissakuttige (Mahanama),
Sham Suranga (Si Devananda), Dileepa Nawarathe (Wayamba Roya),
L, D. Madushanka (Si. Thomas' Matlale), S. W. Wijetunga (St. Thomas'
Matlale), Edwar Edini (Jaffra Central), G. Jeekthusan (Jaffra Central),
Thaja Wimalasooriya (Wayamba Royal), Sanka Ramesh (Moratu Vid.)













