Bens crush Annites to enter final

De La Salle T20

By M. Shamil Amit

St Benedict’s crushed St Anne’s Kurunegala by a massive 109 runs to advance to the final of the inaugural T20 inter-school cricket tournament organized by De Mazenod Kandana which was played at the DMC Sports Complex in Kandana yesterday. The tournament featuring five school teams host De Mazenod, St Benedict’s, St Anne’s Kurunegala, De La Salle Mutwal and St Xavier’s Mannar which is managed by De La Salle brothers is being played for the De La Salle trophy.

In the two matches played in the morning and afternoon session saw De La Salle College Mutwal registering a comfortable 41 runs win over St Xavier’s Mannar in the morning. De La Salle taking first lease of the wicket made a modest 138 and then restricted the Xavierites to a score of 97. De La Salle will now meet host De Mazenod in the match to be played in the morning today. The team winning will advance to the final. Meanwhile St Benedict’s looks the favourite to the lift the title when they posted a mammoth 220 runs with fine contributions coming from Waruna Fernando, Roy Sheran and Sameera Silva.

St Anne’s in their run chase was never near the target as they lost quick wickets and was in a hopeless position of 75 for 6 in the 15th over. In the end they were able to muster only 111. St Benedict’s who came out victors will now meet the winner of the clash between De Mazenod and De La Salle in the final scheduled to be played at 2.00 p.m.

The champion team will receive the De La Salle trophy and a cash award of Rs. 25,000/- while the runner up will get a trophy and a cash award of Rs. 15,000/-. Individual awards and cash prizes will also be presented to the best batsman, bowler and fielder, man of the match, man of the series and for the batsman hitting the most number of sixes.

De La Salle Mutwal 138 in 19.5 overs (Mohamed Farhan 34, Kumara Fernando 25, Chathuranga Priyasad 18: Sylvester Jackson 2 for 16, Rajachathuri Mayuran 2 for 22)

St Xavier’s Mannar 97 in 14.2 overs (Sylvester Jackson 19: Kumara Fernando 3 for 9, Dulshan Lewalage 3 for 18)

St Benedict’s 220 for 8 in 20 overs (Waruna Fernando 42, Roy Sheran 38, Sameera Silva 36, Jason Perera 23: Janitha Perera 3 for 42, Sohan Vaas 2 for 38)

St Anne’s 111 for 7 in 20 overs (Kosala Sirilal 29, Yohan Francis 25: Arjuna Perera 3 for 19, Sachith Peiris 2 for 13)

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Post-World-Cup schedule busier than ever
Vaas says he was never approached
Skipper Chamod and Nuwan rescue Thomians
The un-fixing of match-fixing
TChampion’s League – the league to be in
Thinking in ‘Sevens’ terms
Bens crush Annites to enter final
Taking the basics to Jaffna
Kaushal and Thilina frustrate Pakistan
Gunasena to head Volleyball selection Committee
Kumara Dharmasena’s father passes away
Bens runaway with 99-61 win over Don Bosco
Quarter finalists found
Running along memory lane
St. Eugene’s Basketball tournament in October
Young female spikers to compete in Vietnam
Boxers Anusha and Nilimini progress
Bishops and S. Thomas’ win U-16 championships
Four day athletic camp in the north


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2010 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution