Celebrity winners and losers

By Natasha Fernandopulle

A host of movie stars, sports personalities and journalists contested in the recently concluded seventh Parliamentary General Election and managed to secure a seat in Parliament while a few were unable to do so.

Susanthika Jayasinghe Ranjan Ramanayake Sri Ranga Jayaratnam Sanath Jayasuriya Geetha Kumarasinghe

Among the sports personalities who contested at the election were Sanath Jayasuriya and Susanthika Jayasinghe while Upeksha Swarnamali, Ranjan Ramanayake and Geetha Kumarasinghe were among the movie stars who contested. Some of the country’s prominent journalists also contested in this year’s election and among them were Sudarman Radaliyagoda, Buddhika Pathirana, Manusha Nanayakkara, Sri Ranga Jayaratnam, E. Saravanabavan, Buddadasa Withanarachchi, Susil Kidelpitiya and Sri Gajan.

Among the candidates who won a seat in their respective electorates are:

United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA):

Sanath Jayasuriya – Matara District

United National Front (UNF)

Ranjan Ramanayake – Ratnapura District
Buddhika Pathirana – Matara District
Manusha Nanayakkara – Galle District
Sri Ranga Jayaratnam – Nuwara Eliya District
Upeksha Swarnamali – Gampaha District

Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi (ITAK)

E. Saravanabavan – Jaffna District

The candidates who were unable to win a seat this time around were:


Geetha Kumarasinghe – Galle District
Susanthika Jayasinghe – Kegalle Distrcit
Sudarman Radaliyagoda – Colombo District
Buddhadasa Withanarachchi – Kegalle District


Susil Kidelpitiya – Colombo District


Sri Gajan – Jaffna Disrict

“I conducted a good campaign and people were very cooperative with me,” Geetha Kumarasinghe said adding, “I know this was not the correct result.”

Ms. Kumarasinghe said that she had a lot of support from the people in her electorate and confirmed she will continue to work for them.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other News Articles
No Cabinet till April 21
Manape jilmaat: Ministers in recounts at counting centre
Nine ministers lose seats
Range-Bandara brutally assaulted
Aluthgamage Vs. Amunugama
Separation of powers
Parliament Composition 2010
The General will speak out in parliament: Anoma
Puttalam Baiz’s antics at polling booth
Talk at the Cafe Spectator
Intra-party rivalry main cause of polls violence
Polls victory a triumph of democracy: President
Low turnout shows that people have lost faith in the system – Ranil
Young faces in Parliament
Celebrity winners and losers
Low turnout and invalid votes mark first post war general polls
Just 10 women in Parliament – a disappointing showing
War veterans remember fallen RAF comrades from their ‘Ceylon’ days
Secret vote not a secret
Pre-poll violence leads to poll boycott at Kurunegala
Consequences of the UPFA landslide victory
Australia says freeze on Lankan asylum seekers legal
General Elections 2010 -- Preferential Votes


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2010 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution