Nine ministers lose seats

By Malik Gunatilleke

Fifty seven members of the last parliament - including some senior ministers and top opposition MPs -- lost their seats in Thursday's general elections.

Four Cabinet Ministers, five non-cabinet Ministers and five Deputy Ministers have lost their seats. The Cabinet Ministers were Foreign Rohitha Bogollagama, Justice Minister Milinda Moragoda, Housing and Common Amenities Ministers Ferial Ashraff and Acting Posts Minister Nandana Gunatilleke.

The non-cabinet Ministers who lost their seats were Amir Ali, Jayatissa Ranaweera, Mahinda Ratnathilaka, Mano Wijeratne and Piyasiri Wijenayake The defeated deputy ministers were Hussein Bhaila, Vadivel Putthirisigamoney, Abdul Baiz, Lionel Premasiri and Vadivel Suresh.

Among the UNP MPs defeated were M. Maharoof, Shafeek Sajabdeen, Sagala Ratnayake, Ravindra Samaraweera and Ranjith Aluwihare.

The majority of those who lost their seats in parliament were JVP MPs contesting under the Democratic National Alliance. Some of the big names among those were K.D. Lal Kantha, Bimal Ratnayaka and Chandrasena Wijesinghe.

The number of MPs losing their seats may increase after the results of the Kandy and Trincomalee districts are announced.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other News Articles
No Cabinet till April 21
Manape jilmaat: Ministers in recounts at counting centre
Nine ministers lose seats
Range-Bandara brutally assaulted
Aluthgamage Vs. Amunugama
Separation of powers
Parliament Composition 2010
The General will speak out in parliament: Anoma
Puttalam Baiz’s antics at polling booth
Talk at the Cafe Spectator
Intra-party rivalry main cause of polls violence
Polls victory a triumph of democracy: President
Low turnout shows that people have lost faith in the system – Ranil
Young faces in Parliament
Celebrity winners and losers
Low turnout and invalid votes mark first post war general polls
Just 10 women in Parliament – a disappointing showing
War veterans remember fallen RAF comrades from their ‘Ceylon’ days
Secret vote not a secret
Pre-poll violence leads to poll boycott at Kurunegala
Consequences of the UPFA landslide victory
Australia says freeze on Lankan asylum seekers legal
General Elections 2010 -- Preferential Votes


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2010 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution