Dillon, Hiruni and Auwardt dominate day one

Junior National Short Course Swimming C’ships
By Natasha Fernandopulle

Dillon Abeysinghe of Asian International School dominated Day One of the Junior National Short Course Swimming Championships. The meet started off yesterday March 27 at the D. S. Senanayake College Swimming Pool and will continue today with another 14 events set to be held. This is the third consecutive year that the meet has been held which sees the cream of junior national swimmers participating which is held in the Under 14 age group.

Dillon Abeysinghe in action at the Junior National Short Course Swimming Championships. – Pic by Sanka Vidanagama

Fourteen events were held yesterday and the results are as follows:

Hiruni De Zoysa of Hillwood College, Kandy was placed first with a time of 5:17.13 in the 400 Meter Freestyle. She was also placed first with a time of 2:46.19 in the 200 Meter Individual Medley.

Trinity College, Kandy saw their swimmer S. T. M. Auwardt being placed first in the 400 Meter Freestyle as well as the 100 Meter Butterfly with a time of 4:57.82 and 1:09.93, respectively.

Dillon Abeysinghe of Asian International School was placed first in all his events which included the 100 Metre Backstroke, the 200 Meter Individual Medley as well as the 100 Metre Freestyle events with a time of, 1:10.24, 2:33.40 and 1:02.49, respectively.

The 100 Metre Breast Stroke saw Thisari Karunathilake of Girls High School, Kandy being placed first with a time of 1:26.04 while for the boys, M. A. Induruwa of S. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia was placed first with a time of 1:19. 83.

Githmi Rajasinghe of Southland College participated in the 100 Metre Butterfly and was placed first with a time of 1:18.21. Mahamaya College, Kandy’s Vinoli Siriwardana was placed first in the 100 Metre Back Stroke with a time of 1:18.63. Amanda Jayasekara of Musaeus College, Colombo won the 100 Metre Freestyle event with a time of 1:08.09.

The medley relays saw Mahamaya College, Kandy for the girls and Asian International School, Colombo in the boy’s category being placed first. The team from Mahamaya College consisted of Mindula Rowel, Pawani Costa, Tilini Tennakoon and Irushi Mahanthe and their time was that of 2:29.10. While Sheran Rajapakse, Gowthaman Thayapparan, Ramith Samayamanthri and Dillon Abeysinghe represented Asian International School and their time was 2:23.17.

This has been the fist meet for the year organized by the Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union (SLASU). The meets which have still not been held this year are the Novices Aquatic Championship and the National Age Group Relay Championship, which has been due to the Sugathadasa Swimming Pool still being under repairs.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Selectors in a quandary on the final squad
What’s good for the selectors is not good for the public
Basnahira North dominate proceedings at Galle
No changes at the top
Tiger’s weak-link: No classy bowler
Chaos!!! – By habit or by chance
Romeo in the act
IPL growing larger and larger
Can an African team win the 2010 World Cup?
Wales thinking big for All Blacks
Forty selected to rugby squad
Navy ‘A’ overall champs at five day Unity Race
‘Battle of Crusaders’ at Kalutara today
Sanjaya and Navin stamp their class
Navy impress at Carlton Super Sports Festival
Isipathana bags several Wushu awards
Deepal elected President of Kalutara Town Club
Trinity triumph over Isipathana
Mahinda advance to the quarters
Dillon, Hiruni and Auwardt dominate day one
Charith and Savin slam tons
Bad light spoils proceedings at Panadura
Kings Punjab crash again
Rain saves the Thomians from certain defeat


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2010 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution