No changes at the top

BATA-Sunday Times Most Popular School Boy Cricketer of the Year Contest 2010

At the end of the ninth count of the Bata-the Sunday Times Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Contests the status quo remains at the top. In the All island Contest Raihaan Rizvi from Carey College Colombo, continues to build his authority and now has reached the Twenty Thousand mark and looks quite stubborn about keeping the lead to himself.

In Second Place at the Allisland Competition is Geshan Wimaladharma of Ananda College who now has reached the three thousand vote mark. In the Outstation Contest the top duo – G. Ayesh Madushan of Holy Cross College, Kalutara and Nalin Priyadharshana of Siri Piyarathana Vidyalaya Padukka have preserved their respective positions with 4344 votes and 3563 votes against their names. Once again the International Schools’ contest has proved the most volatile and alive contest with another change at the top at the end of Count no 9.

This time it is Colombo International Schools’ Michael Siyaguna who has jumped to the second position over Shaji Rayyan Samman of Lyceum International Wattala. However the top three positions are close with Revenson posting 3743 votes against his name, Siyaguna finishing with 3721 votes and Samman counting 3536 respectively.

The reader’s prizes go to 1. Lakshika Siriwardena, Egodawatte Road, Madampe; 2 G. Gunawardena, 120A 1/1, Anderson Road, Kalubowila; 3 Eroshinie Silva, 59, 6th Lane, Rawathawatte, Moratuwa.

(Count 9)
Allisland Contest

1. R. Rizvi Carey 20349
2. G. Wimaladharma Ananda 3003
3. N. Fonseka St. Benedict’s 2148
4. K. Vithanage Royal 921
5. R. Vidanarachchi St. Joseph's 697
6. S. Edirisuriya Royal 650
7. M. Ijaz D.S.S 524
8. N. Karunanayake Nalanda 338
9. S. Fernando St. Peter’s 297
10. L. Lochana Thurstan 247

Outstation Contest
1. G. A. Madushan Holy Cross 4344
2. N. Priyadharshana Siri Piyarathana Vid 3563
3. A. Jayasinghe Maris Stella 1957
4. K. Ashan Perera Panadura Royal 1385
5. K. Dinuka Kaushalya Kuliyapitiya Central 668
6. S. Pathirana Kalutara Vid 426
7. H. L. De Silva Kularatne Vid 200
8. T. U. Paranagama Kalutara Vid 134
9. D. Rajarathna Galewela Central 105
10. D. Shanaka Maris Stella 70

International School Contest
1. N. Revenson Lyceum Intl-Wattala 3743
2. M. Siyaguna CIS 3721
3. S. R. Samman Lyceum Intl-Wattala 3536
4. R. Sri Keerthiwardena Gateway College 2320
5. T. Thilakarathne Lyceum Intl-Wattala 1853
6. N. Nuhuman Lyceum Intl-Wattala 566
7. A. Hanifa Lyceum Intl-Nugegoda 531
8. A. Thadhani Lyceum Intl-Wattala 371
9. Yokanth Ravichandrakumar Lyceum Intl-Wattala 346
10. Raminda Silva Lyceum Intl-Wattala 152

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Selectors in a quandary on the final squad
What’s good for the selectors is not good for the public
Basnahira North dominate proceedings at Galle
No changes at the top
Tiger’s weak-link: No classy bowler
Chaos!!! – By habit or by chance
Romeo in the act
IPL growing larger and larger
Can an African team win the 2010 World Cup?
Wales thinking big for All Blacks
Forty selected to rugby squad
Navy ‘A’ overall champs at five day Unity Race
‘Battle of Crusaders’ at Kalutara today
Sanjaya and Navin stamp their class
Navy impress at Carlton Super Sports Festival
Isipathana bags several Wushu awards
Deepal elected President of Kalutara Town Club
Trinity triumph over Isipathana
Mahinda advance to the quarters
Dillon, Hiruni and Auwardt dominate day one
Charith and Savin slam tons
Bad light spoils proceedings at Panadura
Kings Punjab crash again
Rain saves the Thomians from certain defeat


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2010 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution