TV Times

‘Eka Adhipathi’at Elphinstone

Winner of 8 awards at the 1976 State Drama Festival including Best Original Play of the Year and Best Actor awards, ‘Eka Adhipathi’, celebrates 33 years of fame and acclamation when it goes on the boards at the Elphinstone Theatre at 3.00 and 7.00 p.m. on December 9.

The political satire made based on the people’s rebellion against discrimination and dereliction by a corrupt fascist regime, the play had nearly 1450 performances for packed audiences around the country from 1976 to 1999.

The original music score designed by maestro Premasiri Khemadasa is presently handled by Deshaka Sampath and the stellar cast includes Bandaranayake himself in the lead role together with Rajiv Ponweera, Swethekei Munasinghe, Dayadeva Edirisinghe, Lal Peiris, Leonard Cooray, Upul Nishantha, Sampath Tennakoon, Chamila Peiris, Gamini Wijesinghe, Chulla Jayawardhana, Lalith Rajapakse, Wathsala Ranasinghe, Jagath Muthukumarana, Saman Pushpa Liyanage, Himasal Liyanage, Sudesh Wickramarathne, Sarath P. Alawwa, Thushari Chamila Gunarathe, Oshadhi Gunasekera, Rohan de Silva, Asiri Priyanga, Arunodh Wijesinghe, Niluka Dilrukshi Rajamanthri, Manoj Peiris, Dennis Miller and Amil Deepal Galanga.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
Other Magazine Articles
Await magical show with Aliens
Peterites to herald the season
Trinity Chapel to resound with the sounds of carols, today
Wonders of MINI POND
magazine -- Cover of the week
Mirror Magazine Articles
Metal is back on stage
Going green
Intoxicating comedy
Christmas with a different view
Equipping reporters of the future
TV Times Articles
Jayasri in town with surprises
Blue black Christmas Cracker
‘Hut’ is back
‘Don’t use my play for politics’
‘Eka Adhipathi’at Elphinstone
‘Challengers’ on the move
Comedy goes to Negombo
‘Same Old Song’ sung at the AC
‘Up’ for the season
Bunka honours on five Lankans
‘Palm Village’: Holiday among the palms
New home for Arugambay Travels and Tours
OTSC annual Christmas party


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2009 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution