ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday, July 08, 2007
Vol. 42 - No 06

Royal under 13 Tennis champs

Royal College under-13 tennis team remained unbeaten and emerged champions at the All-Island Public Schools Tennis Tournament conducted at the SLTA courts.

The team led by star player Sharmal Dissanayake defeated seven schools teams in the process. He was the only seeded player by the SLTA.

Coached by Sylvester Francis, he said that the players were a well united team that worked together with good team spirit. Francis also said that they the players were well organised and received the support of the parents to maintain team spirit. Players like Sharmal Dissanayake, Senith Abeynaike, Dhanusha Abeywardena and Raviraj Udishtran were the pick of the players who offered stiff challenge to the opposition teams. Royal were in group A with five other teams that played in a round robin stage.

The squad consisted of Sharmal Dissanayake (captain), Dhanusha Abeywardena, Keshawa Nugera, Senith Abeynaike Randev Pathirana, Kalana Jayanetti, Baskaran Brithaaban, Umesh Sooriyabandara, Raviraj Udishtran, Harshamal Dassanayake. They took turns to play in this tournament.

Top to the page

Copyright 2007 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka.