ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday, June 10, 2007
Vol. 42 - No 02

Outstation schools to the fore again

By Saif Izzadeen

Colombo schools had to play second fiddle to outstation schools on the second day of the relay championship held at the Sugathadasa Stadium yesterday.

Rajasingha MV Hanwella winning the under 16 4x100 meters at the relay carnival conducted by the AAASL at the Sugathadasa Stadium yesterday. Pic by Ranjith Perera

Taking centre stage was A.Rathnayaka MMV Walala who a won majority of the events. They were streets ahead of the other teams. It was nice to see an outstation teams dominating the championship.

After a close race in the 4x100 meters under 20 race St.Benedict’s College Kotahena won it with a timing of 44.12 seconds. The winning team comprised of Nuwan Abeywickrema, Ravin Fernando, Prabath Premachandra and W.Dinesh Chamara

The second place went to St.Anthony’s College Katugastota with timing of 44.25 seconds and third place to Ananda Sastralaya Kotte with 44.40 seconds.

It was close race from start to end and all the teams went neck and neck. However St.Benecict’s College Kotahena had that little bit of extra energy to pull off the race.

In the girls 4x100 meter under 20 race a school from the outstations A.Ratnayake MMV,Walala set a new record by finishing the race with a time of 50.96 seconds.They were able to overcome the record set by Anuradhapura Central College which was 51.2 seconds established in 2002.

The winning team comprised of P.G.L.S.Bandara, P.B.W.Indiwari, T.G.Chamali and P.G.D. Manike. They dominated the race from the very start and didn’t give a chance to the other teams.

Sangamiththa Balika College Kegalle came in second place with a time of 51.15 seconds while the third place went to Anuradhapura MMV with a timing of 51.73 seconds.

At the end of the first five events in the decathlon event worked off yesterday, the following took the first three positions They were: Nuwan Wasana Bandara of Ambagamuwa MV Udabalathgama (2843 points), N.T.Sandaruwan of A.Ratnayake MV Walala (2470 points) and Gayan Prasad Tillekeratne of Seevali MMV Ratnapura (2444 points)

This meet is taking place after a lapse of four years and Mobitel have come forward to sponsor this event for the first time. A meet like this must be a regular event in the athletics calendar.

This meet is jointly conducted by the Schools Athletic Association of Sri Lanka and Athletic Association of Sri Lanka.

Top to the page

Copyright 2007 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka.