TV Times

Fukoka screens ‘Sakman Maluwa’
Winner of five Sarasavi Awards in 2003, Sumithra Peries’ ‘Sakman Maluwa’- (The Garden) will be screened at Fukoka International Film Festival, Japan. Focusing on promoting Asian culture and cinema, the film is to represent Sri Lanka. The Japanese festival scheduled to be from September 10 to 20 is the first international exposure the film received.

One of the biggest cultural celebrations to promote Asian arts and culture, the event is held in the Japanese island of Fukoka annually. Over the last fifteen years two films were selected annually from Sri Lanka, Sumithra’s earlier films ‘Ganga Addara’ (By the River side) and ‘Sagara Jalaya Madi Handuva Oba Sanda’ (Letter written in the Sand) too had been entries at this festival earlier.

In addition to Sumithra earlier Lester’s ‘Rekhawa’, ‘Kaliyugaya’, ‘Beddegama’, ‘Awaragira’ and ‘Wekanda Walawwa’ had participated in the Fukoka film festival. The other Sri Lankan film selected to be screened this year is Somaratne Dissanayake’s Suriya Arana (Fire Fighters).

The other important feature of this festival is that the films selected to be screened at the festival each year taken to Fukoka Asian Archives be treasured permanently. The film deals with the conflicting aspiration and outlook of a couple who are differently aged.

Based on the short story by Godfrey Gunatillake ‘The Garden’, scripted by Dr. Lester James Peiris film won five awards at a recently held Sarasaviya Film Festival including Best Film, Best Actor (Sanath Gunathilake), Best Musical Director (Dr. Pandit W. D. Amaradeva), Best upcoming star (Dinindu Jagoda) and a Merit Award for Daya Tennekoon.

Sanath Gunathilake, Kanchana Mendis play lead roles while Dinindu Jagoda plays Sanath’s brother. The film also had an elite cast in Vasanthi Chathurani, Rangana Premaratne, Daya Tennekoon and Irangani Serasinghe. Mrs. Peiris, actor Sanath Gunathilake and actress Kanchana Mendis are to participate in the festival. The film was produced by Ceylon Theatres to celebrate its 75th anniversary.


Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.